The 4 paths

THE FOUR PATHS OF YOGA

KARMA YOGA

It is the path of selfless action. Through altruism and without waiting for any reward in return, the actions of everyday life can purify the heart and amend the ego.

Whether working in the kitchen, meditating in the temple, or mowing the lawn, Karma yogis know that they do not identify with action, work being only a means to reach the supreme. With a little practice it becomes easier and easier to dissociate yourself from your activities. So when you close your eyes, the mind remains calm, appeased and focused.

In small groups, we will practice selfless actions centered around permaculture, animals and everyday tasks.

 

BHAKTI YOGA

It is the devotional approach of love and compassion. Bhakti yoga is the path of channeling and transforming your emotional nature to a higher purpose. Through faith, prayer, self-abandonment and joy, the practitioner acquires a direct perception of the higher realms. When the union is made and only Unity remains, the goal has been reached.

Sound yoga is an aspect of Bhakti yoga. Together we will practice devotion through the voice (chants and mantras of various origins), as well as through the body (rhythms and movements).

 

 

RAJA YOGA

This is the path of mind control, the most scientific approach to Realization. About 2000 years ago, Patanjali Maharishi collected the eight pillars of yoga using aphorisms: yamas (abstinences), niyamas (observances), asanas (postures), pranayama (breathing control), pratyahara (withdrawal of senses), dharana (focus), dhyana (meditation), and samadhi (absolute).

Hatha yoga is part of the path of Raja yoga. The practice will focus on purifying techniques, sun salutations, postures, breathing and concentration techniques. We will have the opportunity to discuss and go deeper into these eight pillars.

 

 

JNANA YOGA

Jnana means wisdom. It is the Yoga of knowledge, through research and analysis, the mind strives to examine its own nature. Its main method is the investigation of the self by returning to the roots of your thoughts, to the thought behind “I”. It is said that only the most advanced of aspirants can take the path of Jnana Yoga, not that it would be superior to all other paths, but because it is necessary to have a solid foundation in each of the other disciplines before you can fully grasp it.

Without practicing enough of the other preliminary paths, no one could have the strength, the discernment, or the purity to stay on this path. This is why we will start by focusing on the first three paths.

Les 4 voies

LES QUATRE VOIES DU YOGA

KARMA YOGA

C’est la voie de l’action désintéressée. Avec altruisme et sans attendre de récompense en retour, les actions du quotidien permettent de purifier le cœur et d’amender l’égo.

Qu’il travaille dans la cuisine, médite dans le temple ou tonde la pelouse, le karma yogi sait qu’il ne s’identifie pas à l’action, le travail étant seulement un moyen d’atteindre le suprême. Avec un peu d’entrainement il devient de plus en plus facile de se dissocier des activités. Alors, quand on ferme les yeux, le mental reste calme, apaisé, concentré.

En petit groupe, nous pratiquerons des actions désintéressées autour de la permaculture, des animaux et des taches quotidiennes.

 

BHAKTI YOGA

C’est l’approche dévotionelle de l’amour et de la compassion. Le Bhakti yoga est la voie de la canalisation et de la transformation de notre nature émotionnelle vers un but plus élevé. Par la foi, la prière, l’abandon de soi-même et la joie le pratiquant acquiert une perception directe des mondes supérieurs. Quand l’union se fait et que seule l’Unité demeure, le but est atteint.

Le yoga du son est un aspect du Bhakti yoga. Ensemble nous pratiquerons la dévotion par la voix (des chants et des mantras de diverses origines), ainsi que par le corps (rythmes et mouvements).

 

RAJA YOGA

C’est la voie du contrôle du mental, l’approche la plus scientifique vers la Réalisation. Il y a 2000 ans environ, Patanjali Maharishi compila sous formes d’aphorismes les huit pilliers: les yamas (abstinences), niyamas (observances), asanas (postures), pranayama (contrôle de la respiration), pratyahara (retrait des sens), dharana (concentration), dhyana (méditation), et samadhi (absolu).

Le Hatha yoga s’inscrit dans la voie du Raja yoga. La pratique sera axée sur les techniques purificatrices, salutations au soleil, postures, techniques de souffle et de concentration. Nous aurons l’occasion d’échanger et de rentrer plus en profondeur au sujet de ces huit piliers.

 

JNANA YOGA

Jnana veut dire sagesse. C’est le Yoga de la connaissance, par la recherche et l’analyse, le mental s’emploie à examiner lui-même sa propre nature. Sa méthode principale est l’investigation du soi par le retour à la source de nos pensées, jusqu’à la pensée du « je ». Il est dit que seuls les aspirants les plus avancés peuvent emprunter le chemin du Jnana Yoga, non pas parce qu’il serait supérieur à toutes les autres voies, mais parce qu’il est nécessaire d’avoir une base solide en chacune des autres disciplines avant de l’aborder.

Sans les autres voies préliminaires, nous n’aurions ni la force, ni le discernement, ni la pureté pour rester sur ce chemin. C’est pour cela que nous nous concentrerons d’abord sur les autres voies.